Congratulations to our Research and Evaluations Lead Dr. Tana Tan for being awarded the 2020 Australasian College of Road Safety Young Leaders Oration Award. This award recognises his inspiring work and leadership in road safety. He was selected by the College Fellows for his contribution to road safety in Australia and internationally.
Some of his most important work includes:
– PhD research on fatal and serious thoracic injuries in passenger vehicle rollover crashes
– The soon-to-be-released Austroads Guide to Road Safety
– Technical road safety capacity building for the Thai Government since 2017
– Various motorcycle safety research projects for TfNSW
– Delivering the Making Roads Motorcycle Friendly (MRMF) course in Australia and internationally
– Working with Centre for Automotive Safety Research on Austroads Motorcyclist Perceptual Countermeasure study
– Working with Department of Transport on the updated the MRMF manual
– Conducting Powered Two Wheelers situational assessments in Karachi, Pakistan
– Project managed the development of the Austroads Safety Barrier Assessment Panel (ASBAP) portal
– Assisting various local and state government develop road safety evaluation strategies

Congratulations Dr. Tana Tan